Los Angeles Location:
Galleria Office Tower
100 W. Broadway, Ste 600
Glendale, CA 91210
Email: admissions@alu.edu
Local: 213-252-5100
STUDENT PORTAL
Call Live chat

ACADEMIC CALENDARS

Semester Schedules and Class Dates

Distance degree instruction begins on a Sunday and ends on a Saturday, at which time a final examination will be administered.

University

Enrollments for diploma programs, associate, bachelor’s and master’s distance degree programs are processed six (6) times per calendar year. Each course enrollment is for eight (8) weeks with a fixed start and end date.

Spring A Session*
Sunday, Jan 5Session Begins
Monday, Jan 20Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday
Saturday, Feb 29Session Ends
 
Spring B Session
Sunday, Mar 1Session Begins
Saturday, Apr 25Session Ends
 
Spring Break
Sunday-Saturday, Apr 26-May 2
Summer A Session
Sunday, May 3 Session Begins
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day Holiday
Saturday, Jun 27 Session Ends
Summer Break
Sunday-Saturday, Jun 28-Jul 4
Summer B Session
Sunday, Jul 5 Session Begins
Saturday, Aug 29 Session Ends
Fall A Session*
Sunday, Aug 30 Session Begins
Monday, Sep 7 Labor Day Holiday
Saturday, Oct 24 Session Ends
Fall B Session
Sunday, Oct 25 Session Begins
Thursday-Friday, Nov 26-28 Thanksgiving Break
Saturday, Dec 19 Session Ends
Winter Break
Sunday-Saturday, Dec 20-Jan 2, 2021
Spring A Session*
Sunday, Jan 3 Session Begins
Monday, Jan 18 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday
Saturday, Feb 27 Session Ends
Spring B Session
Sunday, Feb 28 Session Begins
Saturday, Apr 24 Session Ends
Spring Break
Sunday-Saturday, Apr 25-May 1
Summer A Session
Sunday, May 2 Session Begins
Monday, May 31 Memorial Day Holiday
Saturday, Jun 26 Session Ends
Summer Break
Sunday-Saturday, Jun 27-Jul 3
Summer B Session
Sunday, Jul 4 Independence Day Holiday
Monday, Jul 5 Session Begins
Saturday, Aug 28 Session Ends
Fall A Session*
Sunday, Aug 29 Session Begins
Monday, Sep 6 Labor Day Holiday
Saturday, Oct 23 Session Ends
Fall B Session
Sunday, Oct 24 Session Begins
Thursday-Friday, Nov 26-28 Thanksgiving Break
Saturday, Dec 18 Session Ends
Winter Break
Sunday-Saturday, Dec 19-Jan 1, 2022
Spring A Session*
Sunday, Jan 2 Session Begins
Monday, Jan 17 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Holiday
Saturday, Feb 26 Session Ends
Spring B Session
Sunday, Feb 27 Session Begins
Saturday, Apr 23 Session Ends
Spring Break
Sunday-Saturday, Apr 24-30
Summer A Session
Sunday, May 1 Session Begins
Monday, May 30 Memorial Day Holiday
Saturday, Jun 25 Session Ends
Summer Break
Sunday-Saturday, Jun 26-Jul 2
Summer B Session
Sunday, Jul 3 Session Begins
Monday, Jul 4 Independence Day Holiday
Saturday, Aug 27 Session Ends
Fall A Session*
Sunday, Aug 28 Session Begins
Monday, Sep 5 Labor Day Holiday
Saturday, Oct 22 Session Ends
Fall B Session
Sunday, Oct 23 Session Begins
Thursday-Friday, Nov 24-25 Thanksgiving Break
Saturday, Dec 17 Session Ends
Winter Break
Sunday-Saturday, Dec 18-31, 2022

*Spring A and Fall A sessions also serve as start dates for the Doctorate of Business Administration (DBA) program.

School of Law

The first year consists of five courses covering material tested in the First-Year Law Students’ Examination (FYLSX): Torts, Criminal Law, and Contracts, which includes articles 1 and 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. Courses for the first year of the Juris Doctor program are open for enrollment for spring, fall, and winter sessions.

After the first year and the FYLSX, the upper level curriculum consists of ten courses generally covering fundamental areas of law required to gain admission to the California State Bar. A full course calendar with details can be found below.

CLASS STARTSUBJECTCLASS WEEKSQUARTER UNITSCLASS DATES
——ALU New Orientation————Dec. 22, 2021
WINTERLF200 Criminal Law*1410Jan. 02, 2022 – Apr. 9, 2022
——ALU New Orientation————Mar. 30, 2022
SPRINGLF300A Torts A*96Apr. 10, 2022 – June 11, 2022
LF300B Torts B96June 12, 2022 – Aug. 13, 2022
——ALU New Orientation————Aug. 3, 2022
FALLLF100A Contracts A*117Aug. 14, 2022 – Oct. 29, 2022
LF100B Contracts B96Oct. 30, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2022

*Incoming students must attend an online NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION, which is typically scheduled a week before the course opens. Please contact admissions@alu.edu for more information.

Class Number Subject Class Weeks Quarter Units Class Dates
LU07 Civil Procedure 12 8 Aug 16, 2020 – Nov 7, 2020
LU06 Evidence 12 8 Nov 8, 2020 – Jan 30, 2021
LU08 Professional Responsibility 6 4 Jan 31, 2021 – Mar 13, 2021
LU09 Constitutional Law 12 8 Mar 14, 2021 – Jun 5, 2021
LU10 Community Property 10 7 Jun 6, 2021 – Aug 14, 2021
LU01 Real Property 12 8 Aug 15, 2021 – Nov 6, 2021
LU02 Wills & Trusts 12 8 Nov 7, 2021 – Jan 29, 2022
LU03 Criminal Procedure 6 4 Jan 30, 2022 – Mar 12, 2022
LU04 Business Associations 12 8 Mar 13, 2022 – Jun 4, 2022
LU05 Remedies 10 7 Jun 5, 2022 – Aug 13, 2022
Class Number Subject Class Weeks Quarter Units Class Dates
LU66 UCC (Section 2,3, and 9) 5 3 Jun 6, 2021 – Jul 10, 2021
LU67 Civil Litigation before Trial 5 4 Jul 11, 2021 – Aug 14, 2021
LU68
OR
LAW752
Products Liability Litigation

Employment Law
6

6
4

4
Aug 15, 2021 – Sep 25, 2021

Aug 15, 2021 – Sep 25, 2021
LU61
OR
LAW740
First Amendment

Immigration Law
6

6
4

4
Sep 26, 2021 – Nov 6, 2021

Sep 26, 2021 – Nov 6, 2021
LU41 Advanced Legal Research & Writing 6 4 Nov 7, 2021 – Dec 18, 2021
LU62 Advanced Business Associations 6 4 Dec 19, 2021 – Jan 29, 2022
LU63 Contemporary Ethical Issues 5 4 Jan 30, 2022 – Mar 12, 2022
LU64 Future Interests/Mortgages 6 4 Mar 13, 2022 – Apr 23, 2022
LU60 Trial Techniques 6 4 Apr 24, 2022 – Jun 4, 2022

See the holiday schedule for the School of Law.